WhatsApp is the most popular messaging platform in the world, with its 2 billion users. As one of its users, you are probably in the habit of checking the messages within short intervals, giving immediate replies, and receiving instant response throughout the day. When somebody becomes unavailable, it feels strange.
And what if one of your contacts stays out of reach for a while? You may start wondering how to know if you are blocked on WhatsApp. There is always a chance that their phone is discharged, or they have a poor Internet connection.
However, the longer it continues, the more likely you are to be restricted, especially if you are trying to get through to your ex.
Hence, let us see how to know if someone blocked you on WhatsApp.
How Do You Know If Someone Blocked You on WhatsApp?
There are two ways to block somebody on WhatsApp: before and after you start a conversation with them. In other words, if you have never exchanged messages with a contact of yours on WhatsApp, you can block it in your phone contact list.
Like with Facebook or Instagram, you will not learn that your friend, relative, or ex blocked you on WhatsApp iPhone or Android unless they tell you. You are not going to receive any notifications.
No Status Updates
If you want to know how to find out that someone blocked you on WhatsApp, the first thing to do for you is check their ‘Last Seen’ status. If you can see this inscription and information with the timestamp in your contact’s profile, it is guaranteed you are not blocked. Nevertheless, if you do not find it, do not be sure you are.
Suppose your girlfriend or boyfriend blocked you on WhatsApp after an argument, and the first thing you notice is their online status, not updating.
On the one hand, this peculiarity alone does not indicate being banned. The subscriber you are trying to reach might have set their status to ‘Offline’ to avoid being barraged by messages. They might not want you or their other friends to track it when they are online.
On the other hand, they might be answering the messages from their notifications panel without opening the WA Messenger application.
However, if your inability to see their online status combines with the other signs, it confirms you are on the blacklist.
No Profile Photo Updates
You should also know how to tell if you’re blocked on WhatsApp by your contact’s profile photo. There are very few people who do not have a profile photo on WhatsApp. Some of your contacts may be among them.
However, if you know exactly they used to have a profile picture but can no longer view it, the chance you are among their WhatsApp blocked contacts is much higher.
Outgoing Messages Not Being Delivered
The messages you have successfully sent are marked with a tick. Once received, they have two ticks, which will not happen if you are texting somebody who has you on their blacklist. Your messages to the contact will always have a single tick on them, showing that they are neither delivered nor read.
Although it is one of the most reliable indicators, it does not prove you are blocked. If the person in question rarely visits the WhatsApp Messenger, you will find yourself in a similar situation.
Compare them to the messages you send to the chats where you both participate. Send a short text to your contact who you suspect blocked you. If your group message has a double tick on it, and the private one does not, you fail to reach the person in question. The issue is not with your Internet connection or your version of the messenger. They might have blocked you.
Messages in Group Chats
If you are still unsure how to find out who blocked you on WhatsApp, and, generally, how to tell if you’re blocked on WhatsApp, here is an even more reliable sign to verify your suspicions.
Even if somebody blocked you, you are still able to invite them to a group chat. Create a group conversation with them and one more contact of yours and send any short message. Here is a step-by-step guide on how you can test it:
- Launch a new WhatsApp group.
- Find your contact on the contact list.
- Try to add them to your newly-created group.
If the contact is added smoothly, you are not restricted in any way. Otherwise, you will see the notification, “You are not authorized to add this contact.”
If you see it, you have been banned by your contact.
Ringing Not to Be Heard
“Does WhatsApp ring when you are blocked?” is the question many messenger users wonder about. And the answer is, “No.”
The sounds you hear making a call over WhatsApp are similar to those you hear in a regular call.
You can start a call and listen. If there is no ringing after the number has been dialed, it is one of the signs of being blocked on WhatsApp.
How to Unblock Yourself on WhatsApp?
As you have gone through all the points above, you know how to determine if your friend or partner has blocked you on WhatsApp. As a result, you may be thinking, “Someone blocked me on WhatsApp. How to unblock me?”
Unfortunately, there is little you can do if you really are on the restricted contacts list. You cannot unblock yourself and start calling and texting your contact again.
The only way out is to call that person and ask them what is going on.
Read also: How to track Whatsapp messages without target phone
So how do you know if you are blocked on WhatsApp? There is no way to tell it exactly as WhatsApp will not send you any notifications. However, you know the indicators to look for. If only some of the five indicative signs are present, you or your contact might need a better Internet connection or the latest WhatsApp update.
As you have just learned, they all differ in probability. Your outgoing messages may draw your attention to the technical issues as well as showing you are likely to be on the blacklist. And the notice that you are not authorized to add your contact to the group is a sure confirmation that you are.
Meanwhile, the combination of all the five signs above can be regarded as a guarantee of being blocked.